Who are the new Govt Ministers responsible for travel?

By Catherine Eade
Home » Who are the new Govt Ministers responsible for travel?

Mark Harper has been named as Secretary of State for Transport in new Prime Minister Rishi Sunak’s government.

He is the third Transport Secretary in less than two months, taking over the role from Anne-Marie Trevelyan, who was appointed in September by former PM Liz Truss replacing Grant Shapps.

He was formerly an accountant who held a number of roles previously as Chief Whip, Minister for Disabled People, Minister for Immigration, and Minister for Political and Constitutional Reform.

He was elected Conservative MP for the Forest of Dean in May 2005.

Michele Donelan, appointed by Liz Truss last month, will continue to head the Department for Digital, Media, Culture and Sport. She becomes the first head of the department to serve consecutively under two Prime Ministers.

Grant Shapps Twitter

Grant Shapps will take the lead on Package Travel Regulations as new Business Secretary, replacing Jacob Rees-Mogg

He tweeted that his focus would be to ‘deliver growth and prosperity for the UK’.

Share this article

Latest News