Which holiday hotspots are keeping COVID restrictions for summer 2022?

By Linsey McNeill
Home » Which holiday hotspots are keeping COVID restrictions for summer 2022?

The vast majority of European countries have ditched all COVID-related entry restrictions to allow test and vaccine-free travel this summer.

This includes Croatia, Cyprus, Greece and Italy.

But some of the most popular European holiday destinations still require arrivals from outside the EU to be fully vaccinated or produce a negative COVID test.

Those with COVID restriction still in place are Spain, France, Malta, Portugal and the Netherlands.

Spain continues to insist that arrivals from outside the EU, including the UK, must produce a test certificate unless they’re fully vaccinated or have recently recovered from COVID. Children under 12 are exempt.

France still requires arrivals from the UK to provide a negative COVID test unless they have been fully vaccinated. Here too, the entry restrictions don’t apply to children under 12.

All arrivals over the age of 12 must be vaccinated, recently recovered or in possession of a negative COVID test to enter the Azores, but there are no longer any entry restrictions for Portugal or Madeira.

Malta also requires over 12s to produce proof of vaccination, recent recovery or a negative test.

Netherlands is even stricter, banning UK holidaymakers who haven’t been vaccinated, unless they can prove they’ve recently recovered from COVID.

The full *list of EU countries with no restrictions is:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Greece
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal (& Madeira but not Azores)
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

*Published by schengenvisainfo.com

** Article updated 5/7 to include update to Portugal restrictions

Share this article

Latest News