VisitBritain welcomes ETA expansion to more countries

ETA extended to Middle East countries
By Linsey McNeill
Home » VisitBritain welcomes ETA expansion to more countries

The UK’s Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) has been extended to nationals of six more Middle East countries for visits from 22 February 2024. 

The expansion of the scheme follows the launch for Qataris, who have been using the scheme since last October.

ETAs replace Electronic Visa Waivers (EVW) and remove the visa requirement for short stays to the UK for Gulf and Jordanian nationals.

Nationals of Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Kuwait, Bahrain and Jordan can, from 22 February, make unlimited visits to the UK over a two-year period, or until the holder’s passport expires – whichever is sooner – for a single £10 fee. 

Previously, Gulf nationals paid £30 through the Electronic Visa Waiver scheme and Jordanians paid £115 for a single-use visitor visa.

Gulf visitors are highly valuable to the UK economy, with almost 800,000 Gulf visitors spending £2 billion during their stays in 2022, according to the UK Government.

VisitBritain CEO Patricia Yates, said: “It is great to see the Electronic Travel Authorisation scheme roll out to more Gulf nationals as well as for Jordanians, making travel to the UK easier, cheaper and more accessible for them. 

“Combined with our strong airline connections, the scheme boosts our competitive tourism offer and our welcome to visitors.”

Share this article

Latest News