Hong Kong bans travellers from UK and seven other countries

Hong Kong skyline at night
By Lisa James
Home » Hong Kong bans travellers from UK and seven other countries

Hong Kong is implementing a two-week ban on travellers from – or who have recently visited – the UK and seven other countries in order to control the spread of Omicron.

From Saturday 8 January, travellers who have visited the UK within the past 21 days will not be permitted to enter Hong Kong or transit through Hong Kong International Airport.

The measure will be in force for 14 days, starting at 00:01am, according to a Foreign Office update.

The rules also apply to the US, Australia, Canada, France, India, Pakistan and the Philippines. The FCDO says more information is available on the Hong Kong SAR Government website.

The FCDO said: “The UK has been added to the Hong Kong SAR government’s list of specified places for enhanced Omicron measures.

“Prior to 8 January, this means that travellers arriving at Hong Kong International Airport from the UK need to undergo compulsory quarantine at the Hong Kong SAR Government’s Penny’s Bay Quarantine Centre for the first four days of the 21-day quarantine period, with daily testing and monitoring.

“Travellers will then be subject to 17-days of compulsory quarantine in a designated quarantine hotel, where they will be required to undergo further testing, followed by seven days of self-monitoring.

“On arrival, travellers will need to provide confirmation of a hotel room reservation at their designated quarantine hotel. You can find further details on the Hong Kong SAR government website.”

Share this article

Latest News